Explore The New Seven Wonders All Over The World

All over the world, people travel far to visit the seven new wonders of the world. But do you know the history of these sites and how they were so important to the global community?

For centuries, the world has celebrated amazing sculptures and architecture. So much so that seven of these monuments have the overall status of “wonder of the world”. Although there are now several categories with this title, the original List of ancient miracles dates back to a work written in 225 BC by Philo of Byzantine on seven miracles. These monuments are revered because they show the true ability that people have for incredible imagination and creativity. After all, each of these architectural phenomena is created by man.

The seven new Wonders

The only ancient miracle that still exists today is the great pyramids of Giza, Egypt. To select the seven new wonders of the world, a foundation was established in 1999 to select and select them. After more than 100 million votes, the new sites were unveiled in 2007. These are Petra in Jordan, the Colosseum in Italy, the Great Wall of China, Christ the Redeemer in Brazil, Chichén Itzá IN MEXICO, Machu Picchu in Peru and the Taj Mahal in India.

Although these sites are currently closed to the public, travelers can still admire and explore them through virtual tours. Learn about each of the seven new wonders of the world and plan your future visit.

1. Petra, Jordan

Petra, Jordan is one of the most remarkable monuments in the world. This ancient Jordanian city Dates from the 1st century BC and was once the Arab capital of the Nabataean Empire. At that time, the state became very prosperous due to its Position on trade routes between Arabia, India, Africa and the West. Its nickname is the city of roses and it became a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1985.

Petra is home to 800 tombs known as” royal tombs, ” including one dating back more than 2,000 years, and is an exhibition destination for history buffs. As one of the oldest cities in the world, the city was inhabited by the Edomites (from the 18th to the 2nd century BC), the Nabataeans (2nd to 106 BC) and the Romans (106 to 395 BC).

Petra’s beautiful sandstone walls became famous after being seen in the Movie Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade in 1989. According to the Petra Development and Tourism Region Authority (PDTRA), Petra welcomed more than one Million visitors in 2019.

2. Christ the Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

The colossal Christ of the Savior statue overlooks Rio de Janeiro from the top of Mount Corcovado, a privileged position in Rio. The Statue is considered the most famous monument in Rio de Janeiro and is located in the Tijuca National Park, perched 2,310 meters above the city. The Statue is 98 feet tall and its arms extend 92 feet wide from fingertip to fingertip.

The construction of this gigantic Statue took place in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in April 1922, and was completed in 1931, and its design was conceived by many designers and engineers such as the Franco-Polish sculptor Paul Landowski and the engineers Heitor da Silva Costa and Albert Caquot.

And if you are wondering how Christ the Redeemer was placed on top of Mount Corcovado, here is the answer: due to its massive size, the Statue was assembled on the mountain, and the necessary materials were transported on a small gear train.

It is visited by nearly 2 million people every year and is the largest Art Deco style sculpture in the world. Christ the Redeemer, in Rio de Janeiro, celebrates and honors the centenary of the Brazilian Republic. It is still one of the most visited places in Brazil, but the world, and there is even a replica of the Statue in Lisbon, Portugal. A good tip is to visit it in a day with a clear sky so that you can enjoy the best view of the city.

3. Chichén Itzá, Mexico

More than 2 million tourists annually visit Chichén Itzá, Mexico’s second most popular archaeological site. This UNESCO World Heritage site is an ancient city made up of Mayan ruins on the northern half of Mexico’s Yucatan peninsula. It’s a great day trip if you’re traveling to Cancun or Playa del Carmen, for example, and if you can stroll among the giant pyramids on a visit to Chichén Itzá.

El Castillo, also known as the Kukulkan Pyramid, located in the center of the site, is one of the only buildings that retains its original structure. Historians say that Chichén Itzá was built from 600 AD to 1221 during The Mayan Empire. Because of its Location and Size, it was one of the most important places in Mayan Culture. In December 2019, a new daily attendance record was broken with more than 18,000 visitors in a single day. This is a must when planning a Trip to Mexico. Curious fact: the term Chichén Itzá means “the mouth at the well of Itza”, and Itza is believed to mean” water magician”.

4. The Great Wall Of China

A visit to the Great Wall of China is usually at the top of the list of people who want to experience the seven new wonders. But why? Well, first of all, because it is one of the most famous structures in the world and has been recognized as the largest human structure on earth. Built at the beginning of the 7th century BC, the completion of the wall took more than 2500 years, and its construction lasted more than 10 Chinese dynasties, which is very long.

It is impossible to accurately determine the Position of the wall, because it winds like a dragon across the country, stretches for 21,196 kilometers and winds through the cities of HAMA in 15 provincial regions of Northern and central China. Made from a range of materials, such as stone, brick, clay, and wood, the walls were used for border control and for defense against nomadic invaders. Due to human and natural causes, almost a third of the wall is not found today. Thus, the Chinese government commissioned numerous restoration projects to renovate the wall and its not found parts.

The Chinese do not call this miracle “the Great Wall”.”They call it Chángchéng, which means long wall. This wonder of the world, visited every year by more than 10 million people, was classified as a UNESCO World Heritage site in 1987.

5. The Colosseum, Rome, Italy

Located in the heart of Rome, Italy, the Colosseum prides itself on being a symbol of power for the country. Construction of the Colosseum began in 70 BC, but it did not officially begin until 72 AD. Since it was completed only in 80 AD.built in the heart of ancient Rome, the Colosseum was commissioned by Emperor Vespasian, who wanted to build the largest amphitheater in the world. In fact, it is still the largest in the world. With an oval shape, the structure measures 189m long, 156m wide and 50m high and is made of stone and concrete. During its time, the Colosseum could accommodate up to 50,000 to 70,000 spectators, and it was used for gladiator competitions, and the vast majority of wrestlers were male slaves, judgmented delinquents or prisoners of war. The Coliseum was also home to mock sea actions and animal hunts, and some animals even contained large cats and crocodiles.

In the nineteenth century, two-thirds of the Colosseum was finished by neglect, vandalism and natural disasters, including the marble seats of the arena. A careful restoration program began in the 1990s and this historical monument is still one of the most famous tourist attractions in Italy in the world and is visited every year by more than 7 million people.

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like these